My First Week at SCPS


The wind was whipping around the tall skyscrapers as I sped around the Woolworth building, through the side entrance and up the escalators into a large classroom where West Coast meets East Coast and students have travelled from as far as Singapore for one pursuit – publishing in the Big Apple.

And here I am, one among a hundred who gets excited each time we’re handed a new magazine to review before one of the brand dignitaries appear in our class. This is just our first week, and we have five more weeks to go in the Publishing Institute at NYU.

Imagine this – diet coke, stacks of magazines and a lovely new pair of glasses. I’m ready for whatever they throw at us…though a large blueberry muffin might be nice around 11 am when my stomach realizes lunch isn’t for another hour!

We’ve had lectures on top of lectures, forums, mock interviews and LOADS of information regarding the new digital age in this industry. It seems magazine professionals are just as interested when they hear a word like “iPad” as we are when we hear the word “job.”

On Thursday, we all escaped the classroom for a few hours. My group embarked towards midtown to the Hearst building, where we strolled by Good Housekeeping and spent over an hour with two editors at Marie Claire. We met in one of the editorial conference rooms, where the magazine boards had cutouts of the September issue. (I’m not sure if this is exactly insider news, but I did see pictures of Dakota Fanning).

I couldn’t help wondering how anyone got any work done there when they filmed the reality show, “Running in Heels”? If this perhaps slipped past your TV memorabilia, you missed dramatic interns flitting around an office all day on the Style Network. Yeah, I definitely watched that for about half a season.

The two editors we spoke with, however, were amazing. Both were down to earth and more than happy to talk to us about how they got to where they were. This went against the whole Miranda Priestly typecast from “The Devil Wears Prada.” There were no coats being slung or harrowing looks.

My other ah-ha moment came when I was running down an escalator one rainy evening after a day of classes to make the train I heard approaching. Ever notice those signs reminding you not to run down stairs? Maybe next time you should take heed. I reached the bottom of the escalator quicker than I intended and received a bloody elbow as the result. I did make my train – much to the alarm of a cop who tried to insist that I sit down after my tumble.

Tomorrow evening, we have an Alumni Party with graduates from other classes. I’m debating my black heels, but after the escalator incident and other unmentionable moments the past week, flats sound sturdy. I need sturdy…at least on a Monday.

4 thoughts on “My First Week at SCPS

  1. >YAY! Another post! I love reading anything you write. I’m still convinced you should publish that children’s book your made for Children’s Lit. Can’t wait to read more about your journey conquering the publishing world!“Imagine this – Diet coke, stacks of magazines and a lovely new pair of glasses.” Sound like your cup of tea ;-)Your poor elbow! Perhaps sturdy is best…

  2. >Yes! I love reading your blog!!! The writing institute sounds amazing! I'm so proud of you! And jealous you got to meet editors from Marie Claire! 🙂

Leave a Reply

